[SATLUG] Fwd: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender

Geoff geoff at w5omr.shacknet.nu
Sat Feb 10 05:16:59 CST 2007


Bob Tracy wrote:
> So...  Could I pretty-please-with-chocolate-sauce-and-walnuts-on-top
> ask you to publish an appropriate SPF record for your domain?  Else,
> we'll simply have to agree to disagree about the efficacy of my choice
> of anti-spam methods.  Please don't misunderstand...  There's *nothing*
> I hate worse than spam *except* rejecting e-mail from legitimate
> correspondents.  Geoff will testify to the fact I *will* bend over
> backwards to help people in special circumstances.

I know you explained before, but I've slept since thing.

Why is it, that mail generated by geoff-at-w5omr-dot-shacknet-nu 
destined for your address/server, delivered by w5omr-dot-shacknet-nu has 
problems being delivered?

in this message, you said:

> (1) Sender proclaims his address to be "brad at shub-internet.org".  Cool.
> (2) Host attempting to deliver his e-mail is smtp303.his.com.  Clearly,
>     shub-internet.org != smtp303.his.com, but that's not necessarily a
>     problem.
> (3) Check for SPF records: whoops!  None defined for shub-internet.org.
> (4) In the interest of being thorough, check for MX records: we've got
> 	shub-internet.org mail is handled by 5 smtp-in.his.com.
> 	shub-internet.org mail is handled by 20 smtp-1.his.com.
> 	shub-internet.org mail is handled by 30 smtp-2.his.com.
>     Hmmm...  smtp303.his.com isn't in the list.

So, that means that this following header (typical for being sent from here) -should- pass your filter, correct?
(.spamstop added by me for obvious reasons)

-------- Original Message --------

From:     - Sun Jan 30 21:15:56 2005
X-UIDL:     iga!!3"%#!6"+"!VNi!!
X-Mozilla-Status:     0011
X-Mozilla-Status2:     00000000
Return-Path:     <geoff- at w5omr.shacknet.nu.spamstop>
Received:     from [127.0.0.1] ([192.168.0.2]) by w5omr.shacknet.nu.spamstop 
(8.12.10/8.12.10) with ESMTP id j0V3G0v1019207; Sun, 30 Jan 2005 
21:16:02 -0600
Message-ID:     <41FDA2D9.9070606 at w5omr.shacknet.nu.spamstop>
Date:     Sun, 30 Jan 2005 21:15:37 -0600
From:     Geoff <geoff- at w5omr.shacknet.nu.spamstop>
User-Agent:     Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.2) 
Gecko/20040804 Netscape/7.2 (ax)
X-Accept-Language:     en-us, en
MIME-Version:     1.0
To:     Larry  <rtty at munged-by-me>
Subject:     Re: Fw: Facts about Texas
References:     <001d01c50741$1243a960$6f01a8c0 at HAMSHACK1>
In-Reply-To:     <001d01c50741$1243a960$6f01a8c0 at HAMSHACK1>
Content-Type:     multipart/alternative; 
boundary="------------040302080700030900090403"
X-yoursite-MailScanner-Information:     Please contact the ISP for more 
information
X-yoursite-MailScanner:     Found to be clean
X-MailScanner-From:     geoff- at w5omr.shacknet.nu.spamstop


The from, to, MailScanner and the server fields all match.  Why the reject? 




More information about the SATLUG mailing list