[SATLUG] SPAM on wiki

Bruce Dubbs bruce.dubbs at gmail.com
Fri Jan 5 22:18:17 CST 2007


Robert Pearson wrote:

> Thanks, Bruce.
> You stopped that bad boy.
> 
> But now we have another one.
> 206.161.124.210 writes to the Main page right after the phrase "Consult
> the"
> and before "[http://meta.wikipedia.org/wiki/MediaWiki_User%27s_Guide
> MediaWiki User's Guide] for information on customising and using the
> wiki software."
> 
> dig -x 206.161.124.210

Thanks.  I did a search and found out the ip address is registered by
ARIN (*AMERICAN* Registry), but the address is:

OrgName:    Beyond The Network America, Inc.
OrgID:      BNA-42
Address:    520 Herndon Parkway
Address:    Suite E
City:       Herndon
StateProv:  VA
PostalCode: 20170
Country:    US

But whois says:

Registrant:
PCCW-HKT DataCom Services Limited
   39/F PCCW Tower, Taikoo Place
   979 King's Rd
   Quarry Bay, Hong Kong 0
---------

In any case 206.161.x.x is blocked.

BTW, he did *another* spam after you cleaned it out.

  -- Bruce



More information about the SATLUG mailing list