[SATLUG] Attn: Bob Tracy

Daniel J. Givens daniel at rugmonster.org
Wed Jan 10 10:48:32 CST 2007


I am not sure how other ISPs do it, but the last two I've been on, Cox in Oklahoma City, OK and Knology in Montgomery, AL, as well as Mediacom in FL, allow relaying from their customers for any domain. With that said, they block port 25 outbound to slow down spammers and bots.

Anyway, I too run my own mail server at home (Postfix+Cyrus) and have Postfix setup to handle mail for my domain internally, but any mail that needs to go out to the intarweb uses my ISP's mail server as a smarthost. My domain's MX record is set to a forwarder at GoDaddy that sends mail to my Gmail account. I then use Fetchmail and Gmail's POP3 service to pull my mail down to my local Cyrus server. Thanks to setting up SPF records for my custom DNS with dyndns, I don't lose any outbound or inbound mail. All of my mail is going to a "legitimate" server and not coming directly from the dynamic range of an ISP.

Waaay off topic, but whatever.



On Wed, 10 Jan 2007 10:13:52 -0600 (CST), Thomas King <kingttx at tomslinux.homelinux.org> wrote:
>> Geoff wrote:
>>> you've -got- to do something about your ISP...
>>
>> Don't blame my ISP: I run my own mail server.  If you need to blame
>> someone, blame me because I'm the one that made a local policy decision
>> to filter incoming e-mail using continuously updated blacklists over
>> which I have no direct control other than to decide whether they are
>> trustworthy.  For the most part (definitely not 100% of the time) the
>> lists have been trustworthy...  Notable exceptions I remember include
>> the time vger.kernel.org ended up on one of the lists, and I recall
>> bugtraq getting blacklisted as well.  In both those cases, the black-
>> list managers fixed the problem within a day.
>>
>> If there's anything I hate more than spam, it's rejecting legitimate
>> correspondence.  For that, I am truly sorry.  Of all the folks with whom
>> I regularly correspond, you're the only one who seems to get speared
>> regularly.  Please believe me when I say it's NOT personal.  Plenty of
>> my regular correspondents use Google's gmail service successfully, but
>> you got bitten when the SMTP client host that gmail chose to use for
>> your particular outbound message was flagged by SORBS as a spam source.
>> Clearly, that wasn't your fault or mine, just another instance of bad
>> luck among many such instances.  I can pretty much guarantee that
>> on a different occasion, a different client would be selected and your
>> message would get through to me just fine.
> 
> Since I've began using my own email server from home, I've gotten a few
> rejections because of the IP address range it comes from, RoadRunner. I
> don't
> blame the recipient but it's near impossible to get cleared since I
> currently
> cannot afford a business account with a static IP address. 'Asi es la
> vida.'
> --
> _______________________________________________
> SATLUG mailing list
> SATLUG at satlug.org
> http://alamo.satlug.org/mailman/listinfo/satlug to unsubscribe
> Powered by Rackspace (www.rackspace.com)



More information about the SATLUG mailing list