[SATLUG] OT: Phishing via SMS

tsuehpsyde tsuehpsyde at gmail.com
Wed Jun 4 12:28:50 CDT 2008

Firefox 3 agrees with your assumption of it being a phishing site.

Reported Web Forgery!

This web site at www.vonagerenew.com has been reported as a web forgery and
has been blocked based on your security preferences.

Web forgeries are designed to trick you into revealing personal or financial
information by imitating sources you may trust.

Entering any information on this web page may result in identity theft or
other fraud.

And it appears that someone already submitted this site to PhishTank this



On Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 10:15 AM, Henry Pugsley <henry.pugsley at gmail.com>

> I got an SMS this morning on my work phone that appears to be a phishing
> attack.  It came from "customer at aloha.local" with the following message:
> (ALERT) You need to renew your Vonage Services, please visit us at
> www.vonagerenew.com
> The web site appears to be a valid Vonage login page, but none of the links
> work.  Not sure if it will actually log you into Vonage (pass-through) if
> you put in valid credentials, but I'm not about to risk compromising my
> account to test that theory :)  The domain is registered through a proxy
> registrar in CA, so it could owned by anyone.  It is hosted at an AT&T data
> center in NY.
> Any other Vonage customers get something like tihs, or is this just a
> random
> event?  The phone I received it on is not tied my Vonage account in any
> way,
> but it's possible whoever had the number before me did use it as a contact
> number somewhere.
> -Henry
> --
> _______________________________________________
> SATLUG mailing list
> SATLUG at satlug.org
> http://alamo.satlug.org/mailman/listinfo/satlug to unsubscribe
> Powered by Rackspace (www.rackspace.com)

More information about the SATLUG mailing list